Where Would You Like to see More of Jesus?

During a break-out session at pastor’s convocation we were each asked to share where we have seen Jesus in our churches.    Seeing him in the generosity of church members to help feed the hungry or house the homeless, or in the faces of children being baptized, or the tears of an addict finding grace, or the forgiveness offered to someone who has betrayed them were just some of the many responses offered.

jesus

Then a friend asked us,

Where would you like to see more of Jesus?

A great question.  As with the first question, many responses could be made, and I invite you to share your own.   Here is mine:

I would like to see more of Jesus in me.   I would like to see me become more willing to pour my life into others even when they have nothing to offer me in return.   I would like to see me be more patient with people I think should be more mature in their faith.  I’d like to see me be patient with the Spirit’s work in the life of my church and not feel anxious when results don’t happen as quickly as I want.  I’d like to see more of Jesus in my words, speaking both truth and grace, always seeking to edify others and lift them up in Christ.  I’d like to see more of Jesus in how I prioritize my day, being sure to keep my ministry at home with my wife and kids my number one priority.  I’d like to see more of Jesus in the way I carve out time to spend alone with my Father in heaven, seeking His will and His desire for my life instead of my own.

These are just some of the ways I would like to see more of Jesus in my church.   What about in yours?

 

Leave a Reply

