Consecrate Yourselves

From my devotional reading this morning…

“Consecrate yourselves today to the Lord…that he may bestow upon you a blessing.” Exodus 32:29

Presenting myself to God “as alive from the dead” (to use Paul’s words) implies a recognition that henceforth I am altogether his.  This giving of myself is a definite act, just as definite as believing in Jesus Christ.  There must be a day in my life when I pass out of my own hands into his, and from that day forward I belong to him and no longer to myself.  That does not mean that I consecrate myself to be a preacher or a missionary.  Alas, many people are missionaries merely because they have consecrated their own natural gifts to his wok.  But that is not true consecration.  Then to what are we to be consecrated?  Not to “Christian work,” but to the will of God, to be and do whatever he requires.

~ Watchman Nee, A Table in the Wilderness (June 14th).

One thought on “Consecrate Yourselves

  1. Amen…..and He will not “require us”, but instill within us “Christian work”.

    ” Paul wrote to his young pastor / friend…..Titus 2:11-14: For the grace of God has appeared, bringing salvation for all people, training us to renounce ungodliness and worldly passions….I want us to allow the last part of those words to rest in our minds as we continue in this conversation together. Focus in on: …TRAINING us to renounce ungodliness and worldly passions. Next we will jump to the end of this thought Paul was sharing: ……and to purify for himself a people who are zealous for good works. I also ask that you would allow those words to rest in your minds. Focus on: …..and to purify FOR HIMSELF a people….. . Please read the entirety of 2:11-14 if you believe that I might be taking anything out of context. So God’s thoughts here are that we will become (no options in that one) a people zealous for good works. “Zealous” seems to be a pretty strong description of our desire.” http://disciplesway.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

