Do you know Who is in you?

My two devotional readings for today, June 25th, from two different books, were of one mind and packed a powerful punch.  It’s one I think every Christian needs to contend with, and when we do not, we are open to all sorts of malpractice in our walk with God and, even worse, live as defeated Christians most of the time.    Here they are:

Do you not know that you are a temple of God, and that the Spirit of God dwells in you? (1 Cor. 3:16).

A revelation of the indwelling Spirit was the remedy Paul offered the Corinthian Christians for their unholiness.  Their need, like ours today, was to grasp the fact that God himself had taken up his abode in them.  To many of us the Holy Spirit of God is quite unreal.  We regard him as a mere influence – an influence for good, no doubt, but no more than that.   In our thinking, conscience and the Spirit are more or less identified as some “thing” within us that brings conviction when we are bad and tries to show us how to be good.  Like the Corinthians our trouble is not that we lack God’s gift of the indwelling Spirit, but that we have not yet awakened to the reality of his presence.  We fail to appreciate the essential holiness of the One who has made his abode within our hearts.

                                                         ~ Watchman Nee, from A Table in the Wilderness, June 25th, page 107

The things which are impossible with men are possible with God (Luke 18:27).

Your Christian life is every day to be a proof that God works impossibilities; your life is to be a series of impossibilities made possible and actual by God’s almighty power.  Have you learned to deal so closely with an almighty God that you know omnipotence is working in you?

The cause of weakness of your Christian life is that you want to work it out partly, and to let God “help” you.  And that cannot be.  You must come to be utterly helpless, to let God work, and God will work gloriously!

I could go through Scripture and prove to you how Moses, when he led Israel out of Egypt, how Joshua, when he brought them into the land of Canaan, how all God’s servants in the Old Testament counted upon the omnipotence of God doing impossibilities.  And this God lives today, and this God is the God of every child of His!

Yet some of us want God to give us a little help while we do our best, instead of coming to understand what God wants and to say, “I can do nothing; God must and will do all.”  Have you said, “In worship, in work, in sanctification, in obedience to God, I can do nothing of myself, and so my place is to worship the omnipotent God, and to believe that He will work in me every moment?”  May God teach us this!

                                                         ~ Andrew Murray, Absolute Surrender (cited in Living the Christ Life edited by Rebecca English)

4 thoughts on “Do you know Who is in you?

  1. Excellent post. I can remember in my own life when I was more of the “I will do my very best to accomplish my endeavors……and expect God to pick up any slack.” It took me a lot of years to understand that by not going to God first…and most importantly actually listening to Him….I was so very often simply building a false god. I wanted one that couldn’t speak…..I might as well have had a piece of wood as my god. Bringing in God in the whole of my life only came when my daughter was diagnosed with cancer. My best efforts could do nothing. I was broken….and when I understood…my life was never the same again. Following God rather than trying to lead Him has forever changed my life. ……and my daughter is cancer free today.

  2. Very rich. I really like this way of framing the problem of our sin as our obliviousness to God’s constant presence and empowerment. Somewhere in John, it talks about the way that those who are covered in wrath cannot see God’s eternal life. I think the problem of sin is better expressed as a problem of our decision to handcuff ourselves and throw dust into our own eyes than just describing sin’s hardening as God’s angry response to our bad choices. God’s love is constant; I experience it as wrathful when I am in love with darkness and light is torture to me.

  3. Great post,thank you. I’m curious however on what exactly you mean by:
    “Have you said, “In worship, in work, in sanctification, in obedience to God, I can do nothing of myself, and so my place is to worship the omnipotent God, and to believe that He will work in me every moment?”

    I can recognize that this is something I struggle with but I can’t see how to practically stop doing it. What does believing that God will work in me every moment look like practically on a daily basis?

Leave a Reply

